Last Updated: September 24, 2026

Details for Patent: 10,369,143


✉ Email this page to a colleague

« Back to Dashboard


Which drugs does patent 10,369,143 protect, and when does it expire?

Patent 10,369,143 protects COBENFY and is included in one NDA.

This patent has nineteen patent family members in nine countries.

Summary for Patent: 10,369,143
Title:Methods and compositions for treatment of disorders ameliorated by muscarinic receptor activation
Abstract:Provided herein is a method of treating a central nervous system disorder in a patient in need thereof, wherein the central nervous system disorder is selected from schizophrenia, Alzheimer's disease, Huntington's disease, Parkinson's disease, and Lewy Body dementia. The method comprises orally administering an initial dose of between 75 mg and 300 mg xanomeline and an initial dose of between 20 mg and 200 mg trospium chloride to the patient during a 24-hour period. Provided that the patient tolerates said administration, an increased dose of trospium chloride and an increased dose of xanomeline are orally administering to the patient, wherein the increased dose of trospium chloride is greater than the initial dose of the trospium chloride, and wherein the increased dose of xanomeline is greater than the initial dose of the xanomeline.
Inventor(s):Eric Elenko, Philip E. Murray, III, Andrew C. Miller
Assignee: Puretech Health LLC , Puretech Management Inc
Application Number:US16/270,206
Patent Claim Types:
see list of patent claims
Use;
Patent landscape, scope, and claims:

United States Patent 10,369,143: Scope and Claims for Oral Xanomeline Plus Trospium Titration Methods in CNS Disorders

Executive summary. US Patent 10,369,143 claims an oral, stepwise titration method in which a patient receives initial and increased doses of xanomeline (or a xanomeline salt) plus trospium chloride over a 24-hour period, where trospium is dosed at an initial level effective to reduce an adverse side effect associated with initial xanomeline exposure, and the increased doses are both higher than the initial doses. The independent claim is anchored to a dose-mapping matrix (xanomeline 75–300 mg; trospium 20–200 mg per 24 hours) and then narrowed by a series of dependent claims covering specific CNS indications, alternative vehicle configurations (same vs different dosage vehicles), trospium dosing frequency (once vs twice in 24 hours), and more specific numeric sub-ranges (including the 20–60 mg and 60–200 mg trospium windows). Dependent claims also add multi-step titration (intermediate dose) and identify a specific xanomeline salt (tartaric acid).


What is US Patent 10,369,143 claiming: oral xanomeline plus trospium dose escalation for CNS disorders?

US 10,369,143 claims a method of treating a central nervous system disorder using an orally administered combination regimen of:

  • Xanomeline and/or a salt of xanomeline, and
  • Trospium chloride

The method is structured around time-bounded titration during a 24-hour period. The key structural concept is paired dose escalation: the regimen starts with an “initial” dose combination and then moves to “increased” doses where both components increase, while trospium’s initial dose is constrained to be side-effect reducing for the initial xanomeline exposure.

Independent claim structure (Claim 1): the compliance logic

Claim 1 has the following required elements:

  1. Patient population

    • Patient “in need of” treatment for a CNS disorder selected from:
      • schizophrenia
      • Alzheimer’s disease
      • Huntington’s disease
      • Parkinson’s disease
      • Lewy Body dementia
  2. Oral administration during a 24-hour period

    • Initial dose of:
      • xanomeline and/or xanomeline salt: 75 mg to 300 mg per 24 hours
      • trospium chloride: 20 mg to 200 mg per 24 hours
    • Trospium initial dose function: “an amount effective to reduce a side effect associated with the initial dose of xanomeline”
  3. Step-up to increased doses

    • Increased dose of both components:
      • trospium chloride increased greater than initial trospium
      • xanomeline increased greater than initial xanomeline

What this means in claim scope terms. The claim does not specify the side effect by name. It also does not specify the titration schedule other than “initial” and “increased” dosing in a 24-hour period. That creates a broad functional hook for “side effect reduction” while still being bounded by:

  • the dose ranges, and
  • the requirement that both drugs increase from initial to increased.

Claim drafting pressure points

The independent claim’s enforceability and interpretation tend to hinge on three hotspots:

  • “Amount effective to reduce a side effect”
    This is a functional limitation. It can capture multiple trospium dosing behaviors as long as there is a measurable reduction in an associated xanomeline side effect under the claimed conditions.

  • Dose-rate ambiguity inside the 24-hour period
    Claim 1 states that doses are “during a 24-hour period” but does not define once-daily versus twice-daily until dependent claims.

  • Indication linkage
    Claim 1 is indication-linked only via a selection list. If a product is approved/used off-label for other CNS diseases, the claim set does not automatically cover it unless the indication falls within the listed disorders.


Which disorders are covered by claim 1 and claims 2–6?

Claim 1 covers five CNS disorders listed as selectable alternatives. Claims 2–6 then narrow that list to each disease category:

  • Claim 2: schizophrenia
  • Claim 3: Alzheimer’s disease
  • Claim 4: Huntington’s disease
  • Claim 5: Parkinson’s disease
  • Claim 6: Lewy Body dementia

Scope implication

Each dependent claim is a straightforward disease limitation. The strongest coverage risk for competitors comes from products whose clinical messaging, label, or practice targets these disorders with a regimen that matches the titration and dose constraints.


How broad are the xanomeline and trospium dose ranges in the independent claim?

Claim 1 numeric bounds (per 24 hours)

  • Xanomeline (or salt): 75 mg to 300 mg
  • Trospium chloride: 20 mg to 200 mg

Increased vs initial requirement

Claim 1 requires:

  • increased trospium dose > initial trospium dose
  • increased xanomeline dose > initial xanomeline dose

This “both increase” constraint is a major limiting feature. A regimen that increases only xanomeline while holding trospium flat (or decreasing trospium) does not meet Claim 1 as written.


What vehicle configurations are protected: same vs different dosage vehicles (claims 7–10)?

Claim 7–10 address whether the initial and increased doses are administered in the same dosage vehicle or different dosage vehicles.

  • Claim 7: initial xanomeline and initial trospium in the same dosage vehicle
  • Claim 8: initial xanomeline and initial trospium in different dosage vehicles
  • Claim 9: increased xanomeline and increased trospium in the same dosage vehicle
  • Claim 10: increased xanomeline and increased trospium in different dosage vehicles

Scope implication

These claims are designed to capture both:

  • fixed-dose combination presentation (same vehicle), and
  • co-administration with separate dosage forms (different vehicles),

for both the initial and increased phases.


Does the patent require once-daily or twice-daily trospium dosing?

Claim 11 and Claim 12 specify timing within the 24-hour period:

  • Claim 11: initial trospium administered two times during 24 hours
  • Claim 12: increased trospium administered two times during 24 hours

Scope implication

Claim 1 alone does not require frequency. Claims 11–12 create additional claim fallbacks for formulations or regimens using a twice-daily trospium titration step. Competitors should treat trospium dosing frequency as a material design variable when evaluating freedom to operate.


What specific trospium dose windows are claimed (claims 13–17) and how do they map to xanomeline?

Claims 13–17 create narrower trospium sub-classes:

  • Claim 13: initial trospium 20–60 mg per 24 hours
  • Claim 14: initial trospium 60–200 mg per 24 hours
  • Claim 15: increased trospium 20–200 mg per 24 hours
  • Claim 16: increased trospium 20–60 mg per 24 hours
  • Claim 17: increased trospium 60–200 mg per 24 hours

Important interaction with Claim 1 (increased > initial)

Because Claim 1 requires the increased dose to be greater than the initial dose, only certain combinations of these windows can satisfy both constraints simultaneously. Example constraint logic:

  • If initial is 20–60 mg, increased must be > initial, so increased can lie in:

    • 20–60 mg only for cases where increased is still > initial but not above 60, or
    • 60–200 mg where increased exceeds 60.
  • If initial is 60–200 mg, increased must be higher than initial, which restricts increased to a narrower portion of 60–200 mg because increased is still bounded by Claim 1’s overall max of 200 mg.


Which numeric combinations of xanomeline and trospium are expressly claimed (claims 18–21)?

Claims 18–21 provide explicit paired dose windows that can be used to match formulation and titration protocols.

Claim 18: 75–225 mg xanomeline + 20–60 mg trospium

  • initial xanomeline 75–225 mg
  • initial trospium 20–60 mg

Claim 19: same xanomeline window + increased trospium in 20–60

  • increased xanomeline 75–225 mg
  • increased trospium 20–60 mg

Claim 20: max xanomeline initial + trospium mid window

  • initial xanomeline 300 mg
  • initial trospium 60–200 mg

Claim 21: max xanomeline increased + trospium mid window

  • increased xanomeline 300 mg
  • increased trospium 60–200 mg

Scope implication

These “anchoring” claims can make an otherwise broad regimen easier to map in litigation because they tie specific numeric plateaus (including a 300 mg xanomeline ceiling) to specific trospium ranges.


Does the patent cover multi-step titration with an intermediate dose (claim 22)?

Claim 22 adds a middle step after initial dosing:

  • After initial xanomeline + initial trospium are administered,
  • the method further comprises administering an intermediate dose of:
    • xanomeline (75–300 mg)
    • trospium (20–200 mg)
  • with the required ordering:
    • intermediate xanomeline > initial xanomeline
    • intermediate xanomeline < increased xanomeline

Notably, Claim 22 constrains the ordering for xanomeline at intermediate vs initial vs increased, but does not expressly state the same ordering for trospium at intermediate. Claim 1 still governs the increased vs initial trospium relationship.

Scope implication

Claim 22 covers more complex titration protocols and can catch competitors who attempt “titration design-around” by adding additional steps but maintaining the same overall initial-to-increased structure for xanomeline.


What xanomeline salt form is specified (claim 23)?

  • Claim 23: “the salt of xanomeline is the salt of tartaric acid.”

Scope implication

Claim 23 narrows to a specific salt identity, which can matter if a competitor uses a different xanomeline salt or a different chemical form. Claim 1 is broader (xanomeline and/or salt), but Claim 23 is a specific fallback.


How strong is the patent estate likely to be around this claim family (method-only vs formulation-only exposure)?

Based on the claim text provided, the asserted subject matter is a method-of-treatment with defined dosing logic. That has distinct consequences:

  1. Formulation design-around has limited value if dosing logic is copied
    If a competitor markets the same active ingredients and dose escalation pattern, changing tablet formulation or salt form may not avoid the method claims, unless the regimen falls outside the claimed dose ranges and ordering constraints.

  2. Dosing-frequency adjustments can create partial escape routes
    Claim 1 itself is frequency-agnostic, but the presence of dependent claims (e.g., two times during 24 hours for trospium) gives the patentee narrower alternatives if frequency is used in practice.

  3. “Same vehicle/different vehicle” fallbacks remove fixed-dose combination gaps
    Claims 7–10 are drafted to cover both co-formulated and separately administered dosing in both initial and increased phases. That reduces the likelihood that presentation design alone will provide freedom to operate.

  4. Indication specificity narrows the covered clinical use cases
    The disease list is finite. If another CNS disorder is the intended target, the claim set as written would not automatically reach that indication.


What generic or biosimilar entry risks exist under this claim scope?

This is a small-molecule method-of-use claim set (xanomeline and trospium chloride), not a biologic. The primary risk is generic small-molecule copying combined with practice of the claimed titration regimen.

Risk triggers for a Paragraph IV / non-infringing strategy

A generic entrant typically reduces risk by ensuring at least one element falls outside Claim 1:

  • Dose outside claimed xanomeline 75–300 mg per 24 hours
  • Trospium outside 20–200 mg per 24 hours
  • Initial trospium is not in an amount effective to reduce an associated side effect (hard to litigate as a design-around because evidence can be used)
  • Increased dose is not greater than initial for one component
  • Different indication not in the enumerated CNS list
  • Salt form differs but Claim 1 still covers xanomeline “and/or a salt thereof,” so salt changes alone do not avoid Claim 1 unless the regimen uses a form that arguably does not meet the construed “salt thereof” in practice

Practical litigation alignment

The numeric sub-claims (18–21) and scheduling constraints (11–12, 22) create multiple litigation footholds. If the accused regimen tracks these windows, the patentee has several claim mapping options.


Orange Book status, FDA approval pathway, and certification exposure for US 10,369,143

No Orange Book listing, FDA labeling, NDC-level dosing schedules, or certification history for US 10,369,143 is provided in the input. Without those records, an Orange Book status determination or Paragraph IV exposure mapping cannot be produced from the claim text alone.


Key Takeaways

  • US 10,369,143 claims an oral, two-phase (and optionally three-phase) titration method combining xanomeline (or its salts) and trospium chloride within a 24-hour period.
  • The independent claim requires initial doses within defined ranges and then an increased dose phase where both xanomeline and trospium increase versus initial, with trospium initially dosed to reduce a xanomeline-associated side effect.
  • Dependent claims strengthen coverage across: specific CNS indications, same vs different dosage vehicles, trospium twice-daily timing, trospium sub-ranges, paired numeric dose windows, and an intermediate titration step.
  • Tartaric acid salt is explicitly claimed as a xanomeline salt fallback in dependent claim 23.
  • Freedom-to-operate risk is driven less by formulation presentation and more by dose magnitude, dose ordering, titration structure, and indication practice.

FAQs

1) Does US 10,369,143 require trospium to be dosed twice daily?
No. Claim 1 is not frequency-limited. Twice-daily appears in dependent claims 11–12.

2) Can a regimen that increases only xanomeline but not trospium avoid Claim 1?
Claim 1 requires increased trospium to be greater than initial trospium and increased xanomeline to be greater than initial xanomeline, so increasing only one component does not meet the independent claim.

3) If the competitor uses a xanomeline salt other than tartaric acid, is Claim 23 avoided?
Claim 23 specifically requires tartaric acid, but Claim 1 still covers xanomeline “and/or a salt thereof,” so changing salt alone may not avoid Claim 1.

4) Are the claims limited to a particular trospium dosing schedule other than the 24-hour period?
Only indirectly. Claim 1 defines dosing as “during a 24-hour period,” while dependent claims add twice-daily specificity for trospium.

5) Does the patent cover CNS disorders outside schizophrenia, Alzheimer’s, Huntington’s, Parkinson’s, and Lewy Body dementia?
Not based on the claim text provided. Claim 1 restricts the central nervous system disorder to that enumerated set.


References

  1. U.S. Patent 10,369,143. United States Patent and Trademark Office. (Claims provided in prompt).

More… ↓

⤷  Start Trial


Drugs Protected by US Patent 10,369,143

Applicant Tradename Generic Name Dosage NDA Approval Date TE Type RLD RS Patent No. Patent Expiration Product Substance Delist Req. Patented / Exclusive Use Submissiondate
Bristol-myers COBENFY trospium chloride; xanomeline tartrate CAPSULE;ORAL 216158-001 Sep 26, 2024 RX Yes Yes 10,369,143 ⤷  Start Trial TREATMENT OF SCHIZOPHRENIA IN ADULTS ⤷  Start Trial
Bristol-myers COBENFY trospium chloride; xanomeline tartrate CAPSULE;ORAL 216158-002 Sep 26, 2024 RX Yes No 10,369,143 ⤷  Start Trial TREATMENT OF SCHIZOPHRENIA IN ADULTS ⤷  Start Trial
Bristol-myers COBENFY trospium chloride; xanomeline tartrate CAPSULE;ORAL 216158-003 Sep 26, 2024 RX Yes No 10,369,143 ⤷  Start Trial TREATMENT OF SCHIZOPHRENIA IN ADULTS ⤷  Start Trial
>Applicant >Tradename >Generic Name >Dosage >NDA >Approval Date >TE >Type >RLD >RS >Patent No. >Patent Expiration >Product >Substance >Delist Req. >Patented / Exclusive Use >Submissiondate

International Family Members for US Patent 10,369,143

Country Patent Number Estimated Expiration Supplementary Protection Certificate SPC Country SPC Expiration
Canada 2804215 ⤷  Start Trial
Denmark 3061821 ⤷  Start Trial
European Patent Office 2456868 ⤷  Start Trial
European Patent Office 3061821 ⤷  Start Trial
European Patent Office 3646870 ⤷  Start Trial
>Country >Patent Number >Estimated Expiration >Supplementary Protection Certificate >SPC Country >SPC Expiration

Make Better Decisions: Try a trial or see plans & pricing

Drugs may be covered by multiple patents or regulatory protections. All trademarks and applicant names are the property of their respective owners or licensors. Although great care is taken in the proper and correct provision of this service, thinkBiotech LLC does not accept any responsibility for possible consequences of errors or omissions in the provided data. The data presented herein is for information purposes only. There is no warranty that the data contained herein is error free. We do not provide individual investment advice. This service is not registered with any financial regulatory agency. The information we publish is educational only and based on our opinions plus our models. By using DrugPatentWatch you acknowledge that we do not provide personalized recommendations or advice. thinkBiotech performs no independent verification of facts as provided by public sources nor are attempts made to provide legal or investing advice. Any reliance on data provided herein is done solely at the discretion of the user. Users of this service are advised to seek professional advice and independent confirmation before considering acting on any of the provided information. thinkBiotech LLC reserves the right to amend, extend or withdraw any part or all of the offered service without notice.